BackBack

Understanding Minnesota’s Window Tint Laws

The degree to which you can lawfully tint your windows varies from state to state and based on what kind of vehicle you?re driving. It?s important to have an understanding of your state?s tinting requirements in order to remain lawful and safe on the roadways ? and to avoid fines. Minnesota?s tint laws were enacted in 1985 and are very specific as to what you can and can?t do to your vehicle?s windows. Here?s a breakdown of those guidelines to keep in mind as you prepare for tinting.

Note: All figures are from tinting-laws.com/minnesota.

Window tint darkness
The amount of light allowed through your windows is measured in VLT percentage, which stands for visible light transmission. While you might want to entirely black out your windows, Minnesota has specific tinting guidelines that prevent you from doing so primarily to keep a safe level of visibility in your vehicle. Here?s a breakdown of the tinting laws in Minnesota:
Coupes and Sedans
? Front side windows: At least 50 percent of light must be allowed through
? Back side windows: At least 50 percent of light must be allowed through
? Rear window: At least 50 percent of light must be allowed through
SUVs, vans + Trucks
? Front side windows: At least 50 percent of light must be allowed through
? Back side windows: No limit
? Rear window: No limit
No windshield tinting is allowed on any kind of vehicle in Minnesota.

Tint reflection
Similar to sunglass lenses, window tinting allows for a certain amount of reflection to reduce glare and heat caused by incoming light. This figure is the same for sedans, SUVs, and vans in Minnesota. Neither the front side nor back side windows can be more than 20 percent reflective. Just as with tinting darkness, no amount of reflective tint is allowed on the windshield. While some reflective tint can be useful in keeping your car cool and in keeping the sun out of your eyes, too much reflection can become a hazard for other drivers.

Other tinting rules
There are a few other tinting rules to make sure you?re aware of if you?re thinking of tinting your car?s windows. Minnesota does allow for increased tint in certain medical situations, such as migraines caused by intense lighting. Medical documentation is required to receive special tinting. The state does not require manufacturers to certify the film tint they sell, so you?ll want to make sure the outfit you?re buying from is trusted and reputable.
Make sure you know your tinting laws
Many drivers shopping for tint don?t have a firm understanding of the tint laws and of what they can do to their vehicle while still remaining street legal. This is important information to know before you contact your tinting company.
TintWorks provides industry-leading tinting on all types of vehicles. We?re here to accommodate your needs and to help you achieve satisfaction and safety on the road. Contact us today to request a quote and become a part of our legacy of quality.